PICC Line at work?

I was just discharged from the hospital with my 2nd PICC Line. With the first one I developed a blood clot, so now I'm on Coumadin long term. This most recent hospitalization brought me up to 45 days inpatient since June. I have Eosinophilic Colitis, Factor V Leiden, malnutrition and GP. I'm on 11 different oral medications now, as well as 24 hour TPN.
I've missed more days of work than I've been there this year (I'm a 3rd grade teacher). I want to go back to work, but I'm not sure if I can. The doctor at the hospital wrote me a note to return to work in about a week, but I'll still have the PICC and I'll still be on Prednisone, which decreases the immune system.
I do feel somewhat stronger with the TPN, but elementary schools are so germy, that I fear infection. Hopefully, the TPN will be cut back a little to less than 24 hours by then, or going back will be near to impossible.
Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas on this question? Thank you.
--Deb

6 replies. Join the discussion

If you do go back while still on TPN, you could always wrap the site in an ace wrap or something if you're worried about it getting infected from the kids, although the dressing should be good enough. Also, the ;arge bottles of sanitizer are great as well.

Yes you do need to be very very careful of not getting the site infected, I have been there. Also be careful the line some how doesn't get tugged on.

Be careful wish you well.

Desiree

Hi Deb,
Have you contacted OLEY for the phone number of the HPN support person of the month? It's amazingly helpful to be able to talk to someone "in person" who's BTDT and can give you suggestions and support. There are some amazing people out there who have done everything from parasailing to mountain climbing while infusing TPN, which certainly helped calm my fears about cooking supper or grocery shopping while hooked up! Check the website for the toll-free number for the volunteer this month.