Just do not know what to do...

Hi ladies,
Well after starting on letrozole last dec 2011 for wide spread bone mets it went well for 5 months and then stopped working, then faslodex was added and that did not work at all so in all I have been without anything working for the last 7 months so have just started Afinitor and aromasin but the onc said only a 15 percent chance of that working and dreading the side effects, maybe I should just go on to xloda but just confused at the mo. I wonder how long I wld have if I stopped all treatment except zometa which I get on with so far.
Any thoughts to give me some inspiration would be great.
Just very worried at the moment..

14 replies. Join the discussion

Amanda, I cant give you any advice, I have no medical knowledge at all.

seems your best bet is to listen to your doctors and get a second opinion.

I wish you well and hope that one of our more knowledgeable ladies come along and give you some useful information.

Best wishes. Glo

Amanda, Have you been on Herceptin. I noticed that in your original description of your cancer and its biology/chemistry that you said that you are HER+ If so, why not herceptin? I certainly understand your fear, but don't let that rule your decisions. If you don't feel good about your docs suggestion then how about as Happy suggested - you get another opinion. You just never know when something new will come down the turnpike and stop at our exit.

I agree that if you are Her2+ Herceptin should be a viable possibility, and it is generally not too hard to tolerate. You may also want to have a look at the following AI's.

1. A combination of the two anti-estrogen drugs Arimidex and Faslodex extended the median survival time of women with Stage 4 hormone receptor-positive metastatic breast cancer by more than six months compared to those who underwent standard treatment with Arimidex alone.