Energy drinks and ADD/ADHD

I drink energy drinks like Red Bull to calm me down and get me focused. When I don't have the Red Bull I have energy but nowhere to put it in an organized fashion. With red Bull I can work all day, and get a lot done. All my ideas and energy seem to come together, and my usually at-the-speed-of-light thoughts slow down and become 'grabbable' for a while. I guess it is is a form of self medication-but it works for me. My husband started working at a teen rehabilitation facility and they have teens there who are prescribed energy drinks BEFORE BED on account of ADD?ADHD . He was amazed at this- and so was I since I had already noticed my body/brain response was also to calm down, etc. I would think energy drinks are suppose to speed you up, etc. Not me! Anyone else?

6 replies. Join the discussion

I have never tried that before, I was afraid that Energy drinks especially Red Bull would speed me up and make my thoughts even more uncontrollable. I think I am going to give Energy drinks a shot, if it is a good alternative to medications like Ritalin it would be Great.

My observation has been that a LIMITED amount of caffeine is helpful, but too much is not. I limit myself to one 24-oz Coke in the morning. More can not only aggravate ADHD but also feed depression (which is a common co-morbid disorder with ADHD). Red Bull has about twice the caffeine of Coke. (If I get caffeine in the evening I can't sleep.)

When I was an Asst Scoutmaster we'd take kids to Scout camp. In the troop of about ten kids we generally had 4-5 with ADHD (somehow parents regarded Scouting as a treatment for ADHD). In a 1-2 week campout the ADHD kids would be wired for the first 3-4 days until they ran out of money to buy pop at the camp store. Then they would settle down (it was quite noticeable), except that the parents would often send more money during the second week and they would get all wired again.